Directors’ biographies

Directors’ biographies

Directors’ biographies

Directors’ biographies

Lord Smith of Kelvin


Lord Smith has led organisations in the private, public and voluntary sectors. He is a former President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland. He is currently the Chair of IMI plc and Alliance Trust plc, and Chancellor of the University of Strathclyde.

Christina McComb

Senior Independent Director

Christina has 30 years’ experience of investing in and supporting SMEs. She is currently chair of OneFamily and Standard Life Private Equity Trust plc, Senior Independent Director of Big Society Capital, a trustee of NESTA, and a Non-executive of Nexeon Ltd.

Neeta Atkar

Independent Non-executive Director and Chair of Risk Committee

Neeta has 30 years’ experience in financial services, working across all aspects of risk. She is a Non-executive Director of Nomura Europe Holdings plc and of Yorkshire Building Society, chairing the Risk Committees at both. She has been a Magistrate for over 20 years.

Jonathan Britton

Independent Non-executive Director and Chair of Audit Committee

Jonathan has over 35 years’ experience in banking. A qualified chartered accountant, he was a Non-executive Director of ICIC Bank UK Ltd from 2011 to 2017. He is a Non-executive Director of Nomura Europe Holdings plc, chairing its Audit Committee.

Caroline Green

Independent Non-executive Director until 19 January 2019

Caroline is the Chief Operating and Financial Officer at ReBOUND Returns, having previously held CFO positions in both private equity-backed and listed businesses. Caroline also spent eight years in private equity, initially at 3i plc.

Piers Linney

Independent Non-executive Director

Piers has founded several businesses and won a range of entrepreneurship awards. He has appeared as an investor on Dragon’s Den and sat on the Cabinet Office SME Panel and the Board of TechUK. He is a Trustee of Nesta.

Amanda Rendle

Independent Non-executive Director and Chair of Remuneration Committee

Amanda has over 30 years of marketing and communications experience. She was Global Head of Marketing for HSBC Commercial Banking and Global Banking and Markets. She is a Non-executive Director for Tesco Bank and the Government Communications Service Ministerial Board.

Ceri Smith

Shareholder Representative Director

Ceri is a Director at UK Government Investments and the British Business Bank on behalf of its Shareholder, the Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy. He previously worked in HM Treasury, the Department for Business and the Foreign Office.

Keith Morgan

Chief Executive Officer

Keith has been CEO since 2013. He joined the Bank from UK Financial Investments, where he managed the Government’s shareholdings in Bradford & Bingley and Northern Rock. Keith previously held senior roles at Santander and spent 17 years at LEK Consulting.

Christopher Fox

Chief Financial Officer

Before joining the Bank in 2015, Christopher was Head of Banking at UK Financial Investments, where he oversaw the Government’s shareholdings in Lloyds Banking Group, RBS and UK Asset Resolution. Previously, Christopher spent almost 20 years at UBS.

Patrick Magee

Chief Commercial Officer

Patrick joined the Bank in 2014, becoming CCO in October 2017. He led the team working on the Bank’s set-up, and represented the Government’s interests on its Board. Patrick was previously a managing director of corporate finance at JP Morgan Cazenove.

Dharmash Mistry

Non-executive Director

Dharmash is an experienced venture capitalist, entrepreneur and NED. He is currently a Partner at Lakestar VC and co-founder and Chairman of blow LTD. He is a non-executive director of BBC Commercial Holdings Ltd and was previously a partner at Balderton Capital.

*Appointed on 1 May 2019

Previous: Our people
Next: Our mission and objectives